Starting Their Day Well

My husband works long hours at a stressful job. Sound familiar? So, I like to start his hectic days by doing things that will make him smile.

In our house, that means making him peanut butter toast with green grape smiley faces. You may think this breakfast sounds more appropriate for a 1st grader than a highly educated engineer, but we all have an inner child in us. The day he did a Mud Run, his toast had a stick figure runner, which he laughed about for weeks.

We’ve also been known to leave notes to each other on mirrors that don’t appear until the steam from the shower fills the bathroom. At other times, I’ll start my car and find a CD set to a song he wants me to enjoy on my way to work.

Taken individually, none of these actions may seem important, but they set a pattern. Each one says I think about you, I love you, I want you to do well and have a wonderful day.

Simplicity Tip of the Day: Pick someone you love and for the next week start their day by doing one tiny act that will make them smile. You’ll be amazed at the difference it makes in you and that relationship.

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting Their Day Well

  1. I’ve been teased for years for making my husband’s breakfast each morning. To me, it’s one small thing I can do to make his morning routine easier, but to him it’s one less step to get out the door and start his day. Good reminder to let the little things feed the big things in a great way.

  2. Daily encouragement–what a blessing.

  3. Cathy Baker says:

    I LOVE this post! You make such a valid point in that our demonstrations of love must be intentional, regardless of the love language. It doesn’t just happen – life is too busy. I see lots of halved grapes in my hubby’s future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

