Living Light in a Simple Kitchen

Image Courtesy of Williams Sonoma

At Practical Light Living, today the emphasis is on light  – in my waistline, pocketbook, and environmental impact.

Years ago I started the quest to cook healthier meals for my family. One of the first things I learned was to replace butter with spray oil when coating a pan. Pam cooking spray was all the rage, but I hated spraying chemicals into my food and wasn’t crazy about the number of empty cans I was sending to the landfill. Then, I came across refillable oil misters. These bottles could be cleaned, reused, and filled with the oil of my choosing.

My landfill guilt was gone. This practical kitchen tool also had the bonus of making me feel like a gourmet cook. “What are you using?” friends would ask. “My ultra-nifty oil mister. Would you like to try it?” They always did.

A few tips for your Oil Mister:

  1. Buy a good quality mister from a high-end kitchen store and read the reviews. You create pressure in the mister to use it, and lower quality versions simply don’t last.
  2. Occasionally, the mister will start spraying droplets instead of a fine mist. Rinsing the spray nozzle under hot water usually takes care of this. If this continues to happen, it may be time to clean the whole mister.

P.S. Oil misters make great gifts. Your health conscious and gourmet foodie friends will love you. It’s also a bonus for your pocketbook. The one I use is from Williams Sonoma (shown above) and can be purchased for $15.

Light Living Tip of the Day: In your quest for improvement in one area, never give up your principles in another.

This entry was posted in Gift Giving, Kitchen Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living Light in a Simple Kitchen

  1. Wow! Who knew?? Thanks!

  2. Beth says:

    Always learn something from you!!!! You have so much to share and I’m so glad you started this wonderful blog. I look forward to each new posting!!!!

  3. C.C. Owens says:

    Thanks, ladies. Glad to be of help. Hope this gadget tip helps to keep your bodies and pocketbooks healthy!

  4. Cathy Baker says:

    I will so be purchasing a mister in the near future. I would’ve never thought of this! You just made our lives healthier, as well as our local landfill. 🙂

  5. Robin Owens says:

    At times we take life lessons for granted, so I think it’s great that you’re sharing such lessons in a fun and practically written way.

Leave a Reply

