Getting Organized: The Pebble Method

Have you ever had a pebble in your shoe? It’s such a tiny thing. Yet, when you have one, it bothers you constantly until you stop and get it out.

This is how I think about beginning to get organized. For the person whose overwhelmed cry is “I don’t know where to start,” I recommend finding the pebble in your shoe.

What is one small thing that constantly annoys you, makes your life more difficult, or keeps you from relaxing in a room? It is a jumbled bathroom drawer? A crammed recipe box that overflows when you try to find something? A desk, bed, or dining room table that is so covered with stuff you never get to use it for its intended purpose?

Whatever your pebble is – start there. Tackle that one little stone. If you have no clue how to organize it, send me a comment with your problem. I’ll be happy to give you ideas. Then relax, and enjoy your accomplishment. Other stones may be staring you in the face, but ignore them for a while. Revel in your newly organized space. Soon, you’ll be recharged and ready to tackle that next pebble in your shoe.

Simplicity Tip of the Day – Start small.  Organize the little things that bother you first. This will give you confidence, experience, and time to consider the next pebble you want to kick.

This entry was posted in Organizing and De-Cluttering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Organized: The Pebble Method

  1. I LOVE this visual! Maybe even I can do this!!! Thanks.

  2. My kitchen counter tops are kept clear and uncluttered; however, my desk top is not. One piece of paper like a pebble placed on top of the desk starts an avalanche. So, I shovel papers in manila folders that get shoved into a drawer and forgotten or into one of three tiered folder holders on my desk.

    What’s the secret for keeping a de-cluttered desk? My secret for keeping clear kitchen counter tops is cleaning up as I go. Everything has a go to place beyond a deep dish drawer.

    Help, I just stubbed my toe on a paper pebble.

  3. I appreciate this post too. For me, it’s my desk that continually gets messy. I clean it up, one thing at a time, but it’s not long before it’s back to where it started. Tips on keeping things straightened up?

  4. C.C. Owens says:

    Thanks for the feedback. It sounds like desks are a big issue. Why don’t I pull together some ideas and devote next week’s post to desk solutions. In the meantime, try collecting your desk overflow in a clutter box. That way you’ll have a clean desk for this week and next Friday we’ll look at how to make that a permanent situation!

    PS. If you need to refresh yourself on clutter boxes, check out the June 3rd post entitled “The Can’t Find It Lament.”

Leave a Reply

